|
|
Online Databases
|
Mi'kmaq Holdings Resource Guide
A fully-searchable database with information about 2200 Mi’kmaq and Mi’kmaq-related textual records and published items. Links to digitized images for 300 representative documents. A Virtual Exhibit showcasing another 130 heritage photographs, artifacts, treaties, documentary art and maps. Genealogical resources for tracing Mi’kmaq ancestry and determining band status. An important resource for anyone interested in Mi’kmaq culture, heritage and traditions throughout Atlantic Canada.
|
|
|
Halifax Explosion Remembrance Book
NSARM is pleased to host the online version of a project sponsored by the Halifax Foundation. The 'Halifax Explosion Remembrance Book' is the first really definitive listing for those killed in the disaster of 6 December 1917. The online version features a searchable database with detailed information for 1953 casualties – more than 300 of whom are newly-confirmed and identified victims.
|
|
|
An Acadian Parish Remembered
A fully searchable database containing information for over 3500 baptisms, marriages and burials recorded in the parish registers of St.-Jean-Baptiste, Annapolis Royal, 1702-1755. These two volumes are Nova Scotia's earliest surviving church registers, and a tangible link to the last generations of Acadian French living at Annapolis before the Deportation.
|
|
|
Halifax Explosion 1917 Online Resources
Visit the newly updated and expanded location for Halifax Explosion resources held at Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management. Tour the 'Vision of Regeneration' online exhibit, access information about the 1,952 victims of the Explosion, view silent film footage taken the day after, read personal accounts by people who survived, and plan further research into the event.
|
|
|
Death Registers, City of Halifax, 1890-1908
Two death registers for the City of Halifax, 1890-1908, containing 17,890 entries. Names have been inputted into an fully searchable database, linked directly to the corresponding digitized pages in the registers.
|
|
|
BosaNova Upgrade
Our online catalogue for archival holdings has been upgraded with new software and server improvements. It's faster, more reliable, and now searches not only descriptions of archival holdings, but also some 35,000 items from related NSARM databases newly linked to it. We're continually adding content to BosaNova – but please remember that it isn't yet a complete inventory of our holdings, and it doesn't search all of the databases located elsewhere within our Web Site.
click for more information
|
|
Eastern Eye: A Nova Scotia Filmography, 1899-1973
A new research and reference tool for film researchers, cultural historians and anyone interested in 'the movies'! Eastern Eye is a bibliography of film, video and selected television productions, created by, for or about Nova Scotians, 1899-1973. The file includes 'A Brief History of Film in Nova Scotia' and a database of over 2500 film descriptions, plus indexes.
click for more information
|
|
Marriage bonds, 1763-1849
Forms part of the Nova Scotia Deputy Registrar-General fonds; search for marriage bonds submitted in application for licenses between 1763-1864, 1870-1871. In progress; 1763-1849 available at present.
|
|
|
Land Petitions
Search our expanded Land Petitions database to access the personal names and information contained in 3,338 petitions from Cape Breton Island (1787-1843) and 839 petitions from mainland Nova Scotia (1769-1799).
|
|
|
Poll Tax Rolls, 1791-1793
Poll Tax Rolls form part of the Commissioner of Public Records collection: Census and poll tax series. Search for the names of over 10,300 individuals taxed in Nova Scotia, 1791-1793.
|
|
|
Place-Names and Places of Nova Scotia
Published in 1967, and still the best source available for basic, reliable and easily accessed information about Nova Scotia’s cities, towns and villages. Over 2300 entries, searchable by community name or by county. Each entry provides community highlights, including first settlement, first churches, first schools, primary industries, significant events and notable citizens.
|
|
|
McAlpine’s Nova Scotia Directory, 1907-08
An invaluable tool for researching family or community history through alphabetical listings of residents living in the principal cities, towns and rural areas of Nova Scotia at the turn of the last century. We've scanned and made searchable every page in the 1907-08 Directory - all 1556 of them!
|
|
|
 print version
|
