Vous consultez une page Web conservée, recueillie par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada le 2007-05-15 à 21:22:22. Il se peut que les informations sur cette page Web soient obsolètes, et que les liens hypertextes externes, les formulaires web, les boîtes de recherche et les éléments technologiques dynamiques ne fonctionnent pas. Voir toutes les versions de cette page conservée.
Chargement des informations sur les médias

You are viewing a preserved web page, collected by Library and Archives Canada on 2007-05-15 at 21:22:22. The information on this web page may be out of date and external links, forms, search boxes and dynamic technology elements may not function. See all versions of this preserved page.
Loading media information
Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Graphical element FrançaisContact UsHelpSearchCanada Site
HomeAbout UsWhat's NewWhat's OnPublications

New Brunswick
Nova Scotia
Northwest Territories
British Columbia
Prince Edward Island
Saskatchewan and Alberta
For more info
For Teachers
Take the Tour
Graphical element: Quill pen and hand
Banner: Confederation for Kids Header


Today Canada has ten provinces and three territories. However, back in 1867 when Canada first became a country it had only four provinces: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario and Quebec. After the first four provinces joined together to form Canada, it took 132 years before all the provinces and territories officially joined Canada.

This part of the Confederation exhibit gives the reasons each of these provinces and territories entered Confederation. They are listed in alphabetical order. The number after each province or territory shows the year it entered Confederation. Click on the name to be taken to the story of that province or territory.

Provinces and Territories

Alberta, 1905
British Columbia, 1871
Manitoba, 1870
New Brunswick, 1867
Newfoundland, 1949
Northwest Territories, 1870
Nova Scotia, 1867
Nunavut, 1999
Ontario, 1867
Prince Edward Island, 1873
Quebec, 1867
Saskatchewan, 1905
Yukon Territory, 1898