

Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation

Board Members

<u>Chairperson</u> Polly Craik, Winnipeg

Vice-Chair Nick Logan, Winnipeg

Members

Stuart Murray, Winnipeg
Jim Morden, Winnipeg
Mavis Taillieu, Headingley
Rene Pereux, Winnipeg
Jennifer Plett, Landmark
Tracey Maconachie, Winnipeg
Gary Coleman, Winnipeg
Gary Timlick, Winnipeg

Mandate:

The Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries Corporation is established under *The Manitoba Liquor* and Lotteries Corporation Act. The purpose of this Act is to give the Corporation the authority for carrying out its duties. The board is responsible for carrying out the corporation's responsibilities under this Act and for administering its business and affairs.

Responsibilities:

The Board is responsible for governance and stewardship of the Corporation. This includes:

- i. Formulation and ongoing review of vision, values, mission and goals
- ii. Collaborative strategic planning and budget setting
- iii. Comprehensive oversight and monitoring
- iv. Interpretation of broad public policy goals identified by Government
- v. Progressive performance management

Membership:

The board is to consist of at least nine members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Length of Terms:

Each board member is to be appointed for a term not exceeding five years. A board member continues to hold office until he or she is re-appointed, the appointment is revoked or a successor is appointed. The Lieutenant Governor in Council must designate one board member as chair and another member as vice-chair

Desirable Expertise:

Some members should be from the accounting profession and legal expertise is advantageous. Members should have experience in governance of an organization, human resource management, administration, business and/or marketing.

Meetings:

Board Meetings shall be held at the call of the Chair or a majority of the members of the Board on not less than ten (10) days' notice. Meetings shall be held at least six (6) times per year.

The Board may be assisted by the work of Committees; meeting frequency is determined in consultation with Committee Chairs with a minimum of two meetings per year.

Time Commitment:

At minimum 200 hours per year.

Remuneration:

Sec. 6: The authority must pay the chair, vice-chair and other board members the remuneration and reimbursement established by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Chair: \$50,000 per annum Vice-Chair: \$15,000 per annum Members: \$7,500 per annum