Cabinet committee mandate and membership

The Deputy Prime Minister, the Minister of Finance, and the Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance are ex-officio members of Committees where they are not shown as standing members.

The Honourable James Gordon Carr, P.C. will be invited to attend committee meetings at the request of Committee Chairs.

Cabinet Committee on Agenda, Results and Communications

Addresses major issues affecting national unity and the strategic agenda of the government, tracks progress on the government's priorities, coordinates the implementation of the government's overall agenda, and considers strategic communications issues.

Chair: The Rt. Hon. Justin P. J. Trudeau Vice-Chair: The Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Members

The Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains The Hon. James Gordon Carr

The Hon. Mélanie Joly

The Hon. Dominic LeBlanc

The Hon. William Francis Morneau

The Hon. Carla Qualtrough The Hon. Pablo Rodriguez

The Honourable James Gordon Carr, the Special Representative for the Prairies, will be invited to attend meetings.

Treasury Board

Acts as the government's management board. Provides oversight of the government's financial management and spending, as well as oversight on human resources issues. Provides oversight on complex horizontal issues such as defence procurement and modernizing the pay system. Responsible for reporting to Parliament. Is the employer for the public service, and establishes policies and common standards for administrative, personnel, financial, and organizational practices across government. Fulfills the role of the Committee of Council in approving regulatory policies and regulations, and most orders-in-council.

Chair: The Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos

Vice-Chair: The Hon. Joyce Catherine Murray

Members

The Hon. Bardish Chagger
The Hon. Catherine McKenna

The Hon. William Francis Morneau

The Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson

Alternates

The Hon. Carolyn Bennett

The Hon. William Sterling Blair

The Hon. Mona Fortier

The Hon. Dominic LeBlanc

The Hon. Diane Lebouthillier

The Hon. Lawrence MacAulay

The Hon. Mary Ng

Cabinet Committee on Operations

Provides the day-to-day coordination of Parliamentary planning, addresses urgent and emerging issues, and supports coordination of Cabinet Committee business.

Chair: The Hon. Dominic LeBlanc **Vice-Chair:** The Hon. Pablo Rodriguez

Members

The Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains

The Hon. Bardish Chagger

The Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos

The Hon. Chrystia Freeland

The Hon. Carla Qualtrough

The Representative of the Government in the Senate and the Chief Government Whip will be invited to attend meetings.

Membership of this committee is comprised of Chairs of other Cabinet Committees. Committee Vice-Chairs can attend meetings as alternates, as needed.

Cabinet Committee on Economy and the Environment

Considers issues concerning the strength and growth of the middle class, sustainable and inclusive economic development, the stewardship of Canada's natural resources, and Canada's fight against climate change.

Chair: The Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Vice-Chair: The Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson

Members

The Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains

The Hon. Marie-Claude Bibeau

The Hon. Mona Fortier

The Hon. Steven Guilbeault

The Hon. Ahmed Hussen

The Hon. Mélanie Joly

The Hon. Bernadette Jordan The Hon. Catherine McKenna The Hon. Maryam Monsef

The Hon. Mary Ng

The Hon. Seamus Thomas Harris O'Regan

The Hon. Carla Qualtrough

Cabinet Committee on Reconciliation

The Government of Canada is committed to a renewed nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, and government-to-government relationship with First Nations, Inuit, and the Métis Nation based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation, and partnership. This committee examines initiatives designed to strengthen the relationship with Indigenous Canadians.

Chair: The Hon. Carla Qualtrough

Vice-Chair: The Hon. Bernadette Jordan

Members

The Hon. Anita Anand

The Hon. Carolyn Bennett

The Hon. Mona Fortier

The Hon. Marc Garneau

The Hon. Patricia Hajdu

The Hon. David Lametti

The Hon. Marco E. L. Mendicino

The Hon. Marc Miller

The Hon. Seamus Thomas Harris O'Regan

The Hon. Harjit Singh Sajjan

The Hon. Daniel Vandal

Cabinet Committee on Health and Social Affairs

Responsible for initiatives that will improve the health, quality of life, and economic security of Canadians, including strengthening and promoting a more diverse and inclusive Canada.

Chair: The Hon. Bardish Chagger

Vice-Chair: The Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos

Members

The Hon. Mona Fortier

The Hon. Karina Gould

The Hon. Steven Guilbeault

The Hon. Patricia Hajdu

The Hon. Ahmed Hussen

The Hon. Diane Lebouthillier

The Hon. Lawrence MacAulay

The Hon. Marc Miller

The Hon. Maryam Monsef The Hon. Deborah Schulte The Hon. Filomena Tassi

The Hon. Daniel Vandal

Cabinet Committee on Global Affairs and Public Security

Considers issues concerning Canada's engagement with and participation in the international community, including trade promotion and diversification. Responsible for issues related to domestic and global security.

Chair: The Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains **Vice-Chair:** The Hon. Mélanie Joly

Members

The Hon. Anita Anand

The Hon. Marie-Claude Bibeau The Hon. William Sterling Blair

The Hon. François-Philippe Champagne

The Hon. Marc Garneau
The Hon. Karina Gould
The Hon. David Lametti

The Hon. Marco E. L. Mendicino

The Hon. Mary Ng

The Hon. Harjit Singh Sajjan

Ad Hoc Cabinet Committee on the federal response to the Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Ensures whole of government leadership, coordination and preparedness for a response to, and recovery from, COVID-19. Also ensures coordination of efforts with other levels of government.

Chair: The Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Vice-Chair: The Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos

Members

The Hon. Navdeep Singh Bains The Hon. William Sterling Blair

The Hon. Patricia Hajdu The Hon. Mélanie Joly

The Hon. William Francis Morneau

The Hon. Carla Qualtrough

Alternates

The Hon. Anita Anand

The Hon. François-Philippe Champagne

The Hon. Marc Garneau

The Hon. Marc Miller

The Hon. Mary Ng

The Hon. Harjit Singh Sajjan

The Hon. Deborah Schulte

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Deputy Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, will be invited to attend meetings.

Incident Response Group

Serves as a dedicated, emergency committee in the event of a national crisis or during incidents elsewhere that have major implications for Canada. Responsible for coordinating a prompt federal response to an incident, and making fast, effective decisions to keep Canadians safe and secure, at home and abroad.

Members

The Incident Response Group is a working group of ministers. Membership of the Group may consist of relevant ministers and senior government leadership, as needed, based on the nature of the incident.