Nominees and Winners 2019

The 2019 Brickenden Awards

Wolf Performance Hall
Monday, February 10, 2020
Host: Aiden Thomas

Outstanding Drama

  • Designated Mourner by Wallace Shawn (Ausable Theatre)
  • Get Away (Banished By The King Productions)
  • Left Behind (Trina Brooks)
  • Painting Churches (London Community Players)
  • The Laramie Project (Theatre Aezir)

Outstanding Comedy

  • A Red Plaid Shirt (London Community Players)
  • Bakersfield Mist (Calithumpian Theatre Collective)
  • Reunited Shorts (Fridge Door Live Theatre Company)
  • Skin Flick by Norm Foster (Maybles’ Productions)
  • Stag & Doe (London Community Players)

Outstanding Musical

  • Catch Me if You Can (King’s Players Theatre Company)
  • Damn Yankees (London Community Players)
  • Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (Allswell & MTP)
  • The Wedding Singer (Musical Theatre Productions)

Outstanding Director

  • Dave Semple (Bakersfield Mist)
  • Hailey Hill (Sweeney Todd)
  • Hailey Hill (The Laramie Project)
  • Martha Zimmerman (Susannah)
  • Thalia Ranjbar (Catch Me If You Can)

Outstanding Male Actor – Lead Role

  • Andrew Rethazi (Miss. Trunchbull, Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)
  • Ben Kennes (Charley Fox, Left Behind)
  • George Jolink (Lionel Percy, Bakersfield Mist)
  • Matthew Stewart (Jack, Designated Mourner by Wallace Shawn)
  • Patrick Avery-Kenny (Kevin Woolfe, Left Behind)

Outstanding Female Actor – Lead Role

  • Alicia D’Ariano (Lola, Damn Yankees)
  • Ana Govedarica (Matilda Wormwood, Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)
  • Deborah Mitchell (Maude, Bakersfield Mist)
  • Elizabeth Durand (Elsie, Falling: A Wake)
  • Melissa Metler (Mrs Lovett, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

Outstanding Female Actor – Supporting Role

  • Alex Tremblay (Actor 7, The Laramie Project)
  • Brittany Balina (Holly, The Wedding Singer)
  • Elizabeth Durand (Actor 3, The Laramie Project)
  • Margot Stothers (Julia Warhola, Blank Slate)
  • Sarah Abbott (Mrs. Wormwood, Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)

Outstanding Male Actor – Supporting Role

  • Carson Brayton (Actor 6, The Laramie Project)
  • Chris Wood (Pontius Pilate, Jesus Christ Superstar)
  • Connor Boa (Eddie, Get Away)
  • Dan Ebbs (Actor 4, The Laramie Project)
  • Phil Cal (Actor 1, The Laramie Project)

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Joe Recchia (Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)
  • Joe Recchia (The Wedding Singer)
  • Laura Sepulveda (Designated Mourner by Wallace Shawn)
  • Stephen Mitchell (Falling: A Wake)
  • Steve Allen (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Andrew Rethazi & Steve Allen (The Wedding Singer)
  • David Bogaert (The Laramie Project)
  • Jennifer Cahill & Lisa Desgroseilliers (Damn Yankees)
  • Kevin Grater (Falling: A Wake)
  • Michael James Brown (Painting Churches)

Outstanding Set Design

  • Joe Recchia (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)
  • Laura Sepulveda (Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)
  • Laura Sepulveda (Susannah)
  • Laura Sepulveda (The Wedding Singer)
  • Stephen Mitchell (Bakersfield Mist)

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Becky Lenko & Patt Brocksom (Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical)
  • Elona Thielen (Catch Me If You Can)
  • Kate Deman (The Wedding Singer)
  • Marg Bildy (1949)
  • Tania Harvey (Susannah)

Outstanding Makeup

  • Eva Mien (Susannah)
  • Eva Mien (The Who’s Tommy)
  • Lindsay Alvaro (Damn Yankees)
  • Marina Sheppard (Blank Slate)
  • Simmie Patoka & Nicola Klein (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street)

Outstanding Youth Drama

  • Clue (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • The Great Gatsby (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • The Jungle Book (Westminster Secondary School)
  • The Wolves (London Youth Theatre Education (LYTE))

Outstanding Youth Musical

  • Cinderella (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Newsies (AB Lucas Secondary School)
  • Newsies (Original Kids Theatre Company)
  • Seussical (London Youth Theatre Education (LYTE))
  • Working (South Collegiate Institute Musical Theatre)

Outstanding Youth Actor – Female

  • Sydney Thompson (The Wolves)

Outstanding Youth Actor – Male

  • Tanner Hamlin (Seussical)

Outstanding Original Script

  • Aimee O’Beirn (Of Some Importance)
  • Jason Rip (Party in Petrograd)
  • Stefannie Flannigan (Dirt)
  • Tricia West (When Life Gives You Apples)
  • Trina Brooks (Left Behind)

People’s Choice

  • Damn Yankees (London Community Players)
  • Matilda The Musical (OKTC Alumni)
  • Sweeney Todd (AllsWell/MTP)
  • The Lost Boy (King’s Players)
  • The Wedding Singer (Musical Theatre Productions)

Chris Doty Award

  • Sookie Mei