About the Brickenden Awards

Why do the Brickendens exist?

To celebrate and acknowledge excellence in independent theatre in London, in recognition of the continued burgeoning of new and non-mainstream theatre groups in London since the mid-90s.

The Brickenden Board

The Brickenden Board consists of the Chairperson and administration. The Board governs all aspects of the Brickenden Awards. They present annual awards recognizing outstanding work in all aspects of live independent theatre staged in London during the previous year.

Board members are committed individuals with a love of and varied experience in live theatre. For example, theatre columnists; those with experience in arts administration; those who have been involved in live theatre, but currently are not actively involved; members of the media with an interest in the arts; or avid theatregoers.

Board Members

  • Jane Hanbuch – Chair
  • Keith Tomasek – Treasurer
  • Hilary Montgomery – Juror Liaison
  • Christine Gruenbauer – Social Media
  • John Gerry
  • Jeremy Greenway
  • Morgan van Holst

The Brickenden Juror Panels

Core and Youth panel members endeavor to view a minimum of 75% of all registered productions. This means that a minimum of 5 Core panel members will have seen every registered production; in the case of Youth productions, a minimum of 3 panel members. Original Script panel members read all registered original scripts.

Core Panel Members

  • Deb Laverty
  • Hilary Montgomery
  • Irene De Salaiz
  • Jane Hanbuch
  • John Gerry
  • Pam Fraser
  • Robin Rundle Drake

Youth Panel Members

  • Angela Burwash
  • Chrystine Robinson
  • Karen Bailey
  • Len Cuthbert

Original Script Panel Members

  • Jeremy Greenway
  • Matt Loop
  • Peter Janes
  • Rod Keith
  • Rosemary Moreau

Awards Categories

Awards are presented in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Drama
  • Outstanding Comedy
  • Outstanding Musical
  • Outstanding Choreography
  • Outstanding Director of a Comedy or Drama
  • Outstanding Director of a Musical
  • Outstanding Male Actor – Lead Role in a Comedy or Drama
  • Outstanding Male Actor – Lead Role in a Musical
  • Outstanding Female Actor – Lead Role in a Comedy or Drama
  • Outstanding Female Actor – Lead Role in a Musical
  • Outstanding Female Actor – Supporting Role
  • Outstanding Male Actor – Supporting Role
  • Outstanding Solo Performance
  • Outstanding Lighting Design
  • Outstanding Sound Design
  • Outstanding Set Design
  • Outstanding Costume Design
  • Outstanding Makeup
  • Outstanding Youth Drama
  • Outstanding Youth Musical
  • Outstanding Youth Actor – Female
  • Outstanding Youth Actor – Male
  • Outstanding Original Script
  • Favorite Fringe Production
  • People’s Choice
  • Chris Doty Award

For most of the awards, the nominations are made by the juror panels and the public from the list of eligible registered productions at the end of December. When the nomination process is complete, the juror panels and the public (via an online vote) select the award recipients. The awards are presented at an awards ceremony in February.

The Outstanding Youth Actress and Outstanding Youth Actor award recipients are selected by the Youth juror panel.

The People’s Choice Award recipient is selected by the public vote.

The Chris Doty Award recipient is selected by the Board. It is given to an individual or organization to honour their lifelong contributions to theatre in London.

Eligibility & Registration

For detailed information about production eligibility or to register your production, visit the Register a Production page.


If you are unsure if your production is eligible or have questions, please contact the Brickenden Awards Committee.